Cleaning the “uncleanable” toilet

BeforeAfter

(If you’d rather not read, you can check out the toilet video here on YouTube. It’s amazing how easy it was to clean using the correct tool)

My wife and I recently moved into a home that had been sitting on the market for the better part of a year. Needless to say, the place needed a thorough cleaning. The toilet however just wouldn’t clean. Typically I use a cheap chemical cleaner that I pick up at the dollar store  (for a dollar) and a scrub brush to clean off the junk that accumulates in a toilet, but this mess wasn’t coming off. I tried scrubbing, scrubbing again and even a different harsh chemical cleaner intended to remove calcium, lime and rust deposits. NOPE. Didn’t work.

To clean our dirty home, we hired the help of a cleaning crew that boasted their ability to clean toilets such as ours. BUUUUT when the they showed up, it was a team of 1 person who didn’t bring their toilet cleaning materials. *face-palm*. She did however divulge the secret to cleaning this unsightly mess – *drumroll* a pumice stone. Now, if you’re like me, you will quickly type “what is pumice?” into your smart phone – let me save you the trouble!

Pumice is nature’s sand paper – a rock! But not just any rock, a lava rock. Pumice forms when hot lava cools so quickly the rock’s molecules don’t have time to align into their preferred crystal structures. Gas bubbles trapped during cooling help to form lots of tiny voids such that the rock looks like a piece of open-cell foam. It’s surprisingly light and brittle and you’ve likely seen it before. This is the same type of stone that is used to take dead skin or callouses off your feet- but please, get a different stone for that job.

IMG_4984.JPG

Pumice on stick was not readily available at my local Walmart, but gloves are nearby – I picked both these items up in the home cleaning section. My gloves had a hole in them…because my sister in law used them as she remodeled our kitchen before I got around to using them. (Thanks S!)

Anyways, I was surprised with how easily the mineral deposits (that’s what I think they are anyways) were removed from the toilet bowl. It took me literally less than a minute to scrub off the majority of the build up. The only bit that gave me trouble was right where the water enters the bowl. The pumice stone is very light – surprisingly so – and it crumbles as you use it to clean the bowl under water. If you were going to work on a larger section, you may want a second stone handy, but for just a couple of dollars at Walmart, it won’t break the bank.

Clean up was easy, I threw away the remainder of the stone, gloves and washed my hands…a lot.

Happy cleaning!

-instructodad

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Dkr says:

    Thanks for the tip! Nothing worse than those unremovabke deposits!

    Like

    1. instructodad says:

      You’re welcome, I hope it works as well for you as it did for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

